top of page

SLO Agriculture Program named Outstanding Overall CA Program

After an incredibly busy year filled with overwhelming accomplishments, the California Agriculture Teachers’ Association named San Luis Obispo High School Agriculture Program the Overall Outstanding program in the state of California. The 2015 CATA Conference took place at Cal Poly, SLO the week of June 22nd to the 26th and annually serves as the week-long in-service conference for all agriculture teachers across the state of CA. Both Jodi Evans and Anna Bates took part in numerous sessions, professional development, and leadership opportunities provided by the organization. On Sunday June 21st Anna Bates spoke to 40 Master’s degree students who are current teachers on the impact of making home visits. Recent alumni and the 2015-2016 CAFFA President Joelle Lewis gave opening remarks to all of the teachers at one of the general sessions. At the end of the week both Jodi Evans and Anna Bates put on a workshop for close to 30 teachers on “How to Coach Parliamentary Procedure.” Several of our students came to participate in this workshop and performed demonstrations for the teachers. On Wednesday night close to 650 statewide University, secondary, and state staff members attended the awards banquet.

The San Luis Obispo High School Agriculture program was awarded the Outstanding 2-3 person program award. Other categories included single person programs and 4+ person departments. After all individual awards, San Luis Obispo High School Agriculture Department was named the “Overall Outstanding Program” in the state of CA and will represent the state as the National Association of Agriculture Educators western U.S. National candidate. Principal Leslie O’Connor and Superintendent Dr. Eric Prater were able to be in attendance at the awards ceremony.

Thank you to everyone that has supported us this year!

Anna Bates & Jodi Evans

Special Thanks to the following students for helping with the Parli-Pro workshop: Amber Bjerre, Jamie Fritzley, Camryn Goodwin, Luke O’Leary, Andrew Martin, Darius Vigil, and J’amie Radding

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page